Tax €7 to British for trips to Europe, after Brexit


The European Commission has confirmed that the British should pay €7 (£6,30) every 3 years, in order to travel to EU countries from 2021 on.

The European Travel Information and Authorization System (ETIAS) will allow them to travel within the EU Schengen zone for up to 90 days each time.

Citizens of 61 countries, including the United Kingdom, should apply online for ETIAS and the fee is valid for people from 18 to 70 years old.

The officials stated that the applications would require maximum 10 minutes and the applicants would be informed immediately if their applications was approved. The mechanism will operate in a similar way to the US ESTA, which costs $14 and lasts only two years.

EU ministers said that ETIAS was introduced in order to reinforce the safety in Schengen zone countries.

According to the Brexit agreement between the EU and the British Prime Minister Theresa May, EU citizens and United Kingdom nationals will continue to travel freely with an identity card until the end of the transitive period in 2020.

After 2020, United Kingdom nationals will be allowed to travel up to 90 days every six months within EU without applying for validation, since the United Kingdom follows the same policy for EU citizens, but United Kingdom nationals will need ETIAS, even if there is an agreement.

Applicants will be asked to provide information about their passport, their education and their professional experience, as well as about their criminal and medical records. Applicants should also provide details about the first EU country they plan to visit.

Applications may be rejected or require up to two weeks in order to be completed, but the majority of holidaymakers will receive ETIAS in just few minutes.

Leave A Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *